Seek a Referral

Before school developers can apply for startup grants, they must seek a referral from a Walton Family Foundation program officer or grant partner. A referral from a partner ensures the applicant meets WFF eligibility criteria. It does not imply or guarantee that a school developer will be awarded a grant.

In several states, we work cooperatively with state public charter school associations (grant partners) to create a pipeline of high-quality schools. These grant partners help process our startup grants, usually through a committee review process. We have delegated authority to endorse an applicant to these associations.

To find your Walton Family Foundation public charter startup grant partner contact, please refer to the list below.

Arizona
Andrew Collins
Arizona Charter Schools Association
602-944-0644 (Extension 302)
andrew@azcharters.org

Arkansas
Kathy Smith
Walton Family Foundation
479-464-1567
ksmith@wffmail.com

California
Rebecca Velasco
California Charter Schools Association
213-294-3135
rvelasco@calcharters.org

Colorado
Kathy Zlomke
Colorado League of Charter Schools
303-989-5356
kzlomke@coloradoleague.org

Georgia
Elisa Falco
Georgia Charter Schools Association
404-835-8916
efalco@gacharters.org

Indiana
Betsy Wiley
Institute for Quality Education
betsy.wiley@h4qed.org

Louisiana
Toryah Cameron
Louisiana Association of Public Charter Schools
504-274-3625
tcameron@lacharterschools.org

Massachusetts, New Jersey, and Texas
Walton Family Foundation
charterapps@wffmail.com

New York
Jill Shahen
Northeast Charter Schools Network
518-694-3110
jshahen@necharters.org

Oklahoma
Sam Duell
Oklahoma Public School Resource Center
405-820-3619
sam.duell@opsrc.net

Tennessee
Michelle Doane
Tennessee Charter School Center
615-401-7222 x211
michelle@tnchartercenter.org

Washington, D.C.
Alison Collier
FOCUS (Friends of Choice in Urban Schools)
202-387-0405
acollier@focusdc.org



Public Charter Startup Program - Eligibility Questionnaire >